Blog 4-15-2012

There is nothing like making long “to-do” lists, backwards calendar planning and on-line house hunting, just before bedtime, to make one feel very tired upon waking, if not overwhelmed. The reality of how much there is to do in the next seven weeks has nearly taken my breath away.

Today I begin feeling sluggish and older than I’d like in my 44-year-old body. Having gotten off track with my fitness plan in February, I am now feeling the repercussions… Things were only made worse by discovering beautiful photos of our family – in Italy, 10-years-ago, and our now, 10 ½ year-old daughter saying, “You sure looked better then.” Whew – talk about a reality check. Have I changed that much? Am I actually that mature person I used to look at as such a “seasoned” person? Has that blissful look on my face been diminished from life’s experiences? Finally, have all these moves gotten the best of me?

Throwing my anchor in for the day with my tea time with God (which our oldest supported by making me a cup of tea), I am encouraged by a book I “randomly” found (for free) at a local book store. It’s called “After the Boxes are Unpacked” by Susan Miller. As it turns out, this book is exactly what I need. More importantly, Miller has provided very poignant scripture to encourage the process.

“And the Lord will continually guide you, and satisfy your desire in scorched places, and give strength to your bones; And you will be like a watered garden, and like a spring of water whose waters do not fail.” – Isaiah 58:11

Like a person traveling in a desert, my thirst is quenched by these words today. I am encouraged to believe that God is guiding us – even on this move away from Alaska, which has been Heaven on earth for us. I am reminded that it is He, not our geography, who ultimately gives me strength. Today I surrender to where we are, and lean upon His understanding, not my own. God doesn’t make mistakes and we are “tagged for the right destination.”

###

