As we move forward towards our departure from Alaska date, I am becoming clear that what is hardest about this transition is not all the work that is involved, but rather the enormous amount of letting go which is required. Each day I am faced with more activities, trips and opportunities to connect with others that I must say “our time is up – we cannot” to – and that’s really hard.

Leaving a land, people, and a lifestyle we have come to truly love and be at home with just isn’t a happy thing – it’s hard. There is grief, lots of it. There are emotions that equate to loosing someone you love. Each day, as we focus on what we must do, I am faced also with the anguish of our life ending here.

Yes, we are blessed with the fact that on the other side of this ending, there is a new beginning waiting for us. But before I go there, I have a lot of emotions to reconcile. Unmet expectations with family members is at the top during this emotionally vulnerable stage.

Like with grief of a lost loved one, the pain of moving cross-country is deeply personal and touches many unseen places. It’s here in this devotion, that I am strongly pulled into love. I share this today because it helps redirect my focus today – on God’s love and on His abundant provision for us. I choose to be in love and to surrender the rest.

“We have known and believed the love that God hath to us. God is love; and he that dwelleth in love dwelleth in God, and God in him.” -1 John 4:16

“Dwell on that thought – God is love. Dwell on My actions on earth. See in them love in operation. You, too, must put love (God) into action in your lives.
God is love – no judging.
God is love – no resentment.
God is love – all patience.
God is love – all power.
God is love – all supply.”

-“ 365 One-minute Mediations from God Calling”, 2008, John Hunt Publishing, Ltd.
###

