While quickly making breakfast and lunch for the kids – after a late night to bed because we entertained guests last night, I stopped to pray for breakfast – and to share God’s word with our children. Delighted my heart was when I heard our 8 and 10-year-old enthusiastically respond to my call out of “Ask” – “and it will be given to you”, they cheers, “Seek” – “and you will find” they said, and finally, “Knock” – “and the door will be opened,” they naturally shouted out.

What a great way to start the day – with cheerful and affirming fellowship around the breakfast table together.  The kids chanted the Luke scripture before I even read it. Where had they heard it before?  Well, I was delighted they knew this much.  Our 7-year-old said, “I don’t know that.” I said that I didn’t know it at seven, either.

With the few pressing minutes we had before the school bus arrived, I stressed that God calls us to participate in asking for help and that He can only help us when we do ask.  Then I reminded them of a recent, specific answered prayer that our oldest had around her science project – which won 1st place!  His words encourages us to keep showing up – and to keep focusing on what it is that we most want.  Our God is a God of details. He continues to impress this upon our lives with answered prayers.

As we moved toward the pressing deadline of moving across the continent in 7 weeks, I surrender the details to God and ask Him to help me prioritize them at this time.  I also let go of more external events so that I can simply enjoy the spectacular beauty of these shining white-capped mountains that are literally in our back yard. Oh how I love Alaska! And, I very specifically ask, if not beg, for clarity on how to find balance between the stress of uprooting and transplanting our life and connecting with extended family members.

“So I say to you: Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you.  For everyone who ask receives; he who seeks finds; and to him who knocks, the door will be opened.” – Luke 11:9

p.s. I did take a photo of our stunning backyard mountain view to share for inspiration but was unable to upload it. So, I take this request, too, that I will learn how to be more electronically effective. Where can I take a class to learn this?