Waiting for Santa is easy to do when you’re the Mom.  It’s 2:10AM and I’m finally calling it a night, well almost. The dog, Apollo, still stays close by, in case I decide to get food I think. I have to admit, I did take a couple nibbles off of Santa’s cookies. Surely he gets well fed this night anyway.

The excitement of our three children all day long was simply priceless.  Their story-book excitement took me deep into the memories of happy childhood Christmases.  What a gift it is to become transported to timeless memories…when our lives were as simple as the anticipation of playing with toys.  It’s been a very long time since I’ve truly remembered what this felt like. I’m thrilled to have the privilege to know this again with our children.

All day long our son asked me, “Mom, what do you want for Christmas?” At first I responded by saying skiing with him – sharing time with him was a great gift. Then he pressed on and said, “What thing do you want for Christmas?” Then I answered and said, thinking of his toys, “Legos!”  Our son smiled and said, you’ll have to get the ones for older kids.  That made me laugh a lot.

“Can you believe Jacob doesn’t believe in Santa,” our 8-year-old son said to me as we were skiing today. I thought, oh know, on Christmas Eve, we’re going to have this conversation.  I responded by saying that some people don’t believe in God either, and that people choose to believe many different things.  I fervently said, “I believe!”  Then my son said loudly as we skied down the hill, “I believe, I believe.”

Watching Santa on the “Santa Tracker” on the Internet was quite remarkable. It was also a wonderful geography lesson, as we watched and then traced his path on the world map next to the computer. As Santa headed into the U.S. from Cuba, the kids said, “he’s on his way, we need to get to bed!”  But before we tucked them in, we cuddled around the fire to read aloud “Twas the Night Before Christmas” – a book we picked up at the North Pole!

Our stockings are hung with care in hopes that St. Nicholas will soon be here.  Tonight I give thanks for this true gift of Christmas in our family. I pray for the many soldiers who are separated from their family members at this time. I pray for Thy perfect peace to be upon us.

Merry Christmas!

Peace on Earth!

 

 

