I love it when the same subject comes to me from different sources – “coincidentally.”  Whatever the topic is, when it’s delivered from multiple sources, it receives my utmost attention with great curiosity.  It feels like the Messenger is putting an exclamation point on it – to really call my attention to it. And the method works.

Today the word is from King David. Last night we read quite a lot on David from the Bible during our Jesse Tree devotion.  For the first time in my life, I heard the gory details of what David really did to Goliath. How could I have not known the whole story up until now?  And so the humility of learning and living continues.

This morning I am moved to spend time in Psalm 23.  “Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life, and I shall dwell in the house of the Lord my whole life long.” Psalm 23:6  This verse speaks to the hope we have.  Indeed it is believing in this hope that often enables us simply to endure what life is – and to look beyond our burdens, as surely we each carry them.

My favorite way to read this Psalm is to insert the words “He’s all that I want” in the first line….The Lord is my shepherd, he’s all that I want. This is a powerful meditation, especially during the Christmas season.  Last night after watching “Christmas on 34th Street” the kids asked what’s on my list for Santa. My initial reaction was one of silence, for He has truly given me what I want.

Yet, of course the truth is, my life is led by wanting all day. Usually though, my focus in on wanting more of myself….to be more capable, productive, organized, witty, fit…  As I observe our children picking up on traits in our family, I become more aware of my need to want more of God than of myself.  Today our Advent family fun activity is to share parts of Psalm 23 with others along with a candy cane. There’s not candy here, but I do pray that you will enjoy the sweetness of only wanting Him today.  “The Lord is my shepherd, He’s all that I want.”

###

Psalm 23

A psalm of David.

1 The LORD is my shepherd, I lack nothing.
2 He makes me lie down in green pastures,
he leads me beside quiet waters,
3 he refreshes my soul.
He guides me along the right paths
for his name’s sake.
4 Even though I walk
through the darkest valley,[a]
I will fear no evil,
for you are with me;
your rod and your staff,
they comfort me.

5 You prepare a table before me
in the presence of my enemies.
You anoint my head with oil;
my cup overflows.
6 Surely your goodness and love will follow me
all the days of my life,
and I will dwell in the house of the LORD
forever.


