While attending college in Las Vegas, Nevada I worked at a bank as at teller.  While we had a few customers who were “famous” on local television, there was one man who stood out – one who had changed his name to match his cause.  On his bank account, his name legally was “John 3:16.”  I remember how weird I thought that was – to go to such extremes to communicate a message.  Granted, this John 3:16 person did make a reputation for himself as one who would really get out there, too.  Yet, this was his mission – his calling, to make sure others knew who God was and he allowed himself to be a billboard of sorts for this message.

Today, nearly twenty years later, as I hear the radio station talk about “Happy 3:16 Day”, I remember this man, too.  God’s love is alive – this I know for sure. May you choose to believe so that you allow God’s perfect grace in your life.

“For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only son that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.” John 3:16

###

