Today I share a quote that came to me during a conversation about perseverance.  When this quote showed up again, quite randomly, I knew that I am meant to pay attention.  It’s been my favorite quote ever since I read it after Nelson Mandela used it in his 1994 inaugural speech in South Africa.

The point is to be a witness to what keep showing up in our lives. What’s the message? Does it fit? What are the opportunities in it?

I pray that today I can surrender my tiredness and frustrations so that I may let my light shine – and be an example of  God’s grace in our lives, even on an off day. All we can truly control day our reaction to what’s around us. It’s real life.  May it be an empowering lesson.

Our Deepest Fear

By Marianne Williamson

Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate.
Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure.
It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us.
Your playing small does not serve the world.

There is nothing enlightened about shrinking
So that other people won’t feel insecure around you.
We were all meant to shine, as children do.
It’s not just in some of us; it’s in everyone.

And as we let our own light shine,
We unconsciously give other people permission to do the same
As we are liberated from our own fear,
Our presence automatically liberates others.”

